The role of the National Coordinating Committee (NCC) is to provide governance for OrganicFarmNZ. NCC members are elected by their region for a two year term.

The 2018/19 NCC (and the regions they represent) are:

Jim Bennett – Chair (Bay of Plenty)

Jim, together with his wife Julie, supply organic retailers throughout the North Island and Christchurch with a variety of hothouse vegetables and subtropical fruit from their 3ha property in sunny Opotiki. A former geography teacher, Jim has been involved in organics for many years, and their property has been certified with OFNZ since 2001.

John Clark (Far North)

Vacant (Auckland)

Rory Fogerty (Waikato) 

Chris May (Coromandel)

Marion Thomson (co-opted for Hawkes Bay/Gisborne)

Ursula Bil-Teitink (co-opted for Taranaki/Whanganui)

Barbara Harford (South West North Island – Wellington, Kapiti, Horowhenua)

Vacant (Growing Organics Inc. Wairarapa)

Alvina Murphy (Canterbury/Nelson Bays)

Alvina Murphy along with her husband Brendan have established a Certified Organic fruit orchard “Organic Fruit Adair” on a 23 acre lifestyle block close to Timaru where they have been living for over 35 years.

They have planted a wide variety of heritage fruit and nut trees, native shelter belts, along with ammenity plantings, establishing ponds and daming a creek to create a wildlife refuge including habitat for ducks and geese. Alvina has a large vegetable and herb garden and enjoys keeping old breeds of poultry.

She has always been interested in organics and natural farming, has 5 adult children, 6 grandchildren and teaches at a local high school.

Vacant (Otago/Southland)